Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA), also known as The Calcutta Metropolitan Area and Kolkata Metropolitan Region (KMR) is the urban agglomeration of the city of Kolkata in the Indian state of West Bengal. It is the third most populous metropolitan area in India after Delhi and Mumbai.

It consists of many cities and towns around the city of Kolkata.The Kolkata Metropolitan Development Authority takes care of this region and this region is developing very fast with new technologies, buildings, infrastructures, parks, sports club, Malls, riverside region developments, etc. 

Municipal corporations

  1. Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) (Total Ward-144)
  2. Howrah Municipal Corporation (HMC) (Total Ward- 50)
  3. Chandannagore Municipal Corporation
  4. Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation


  1. Hooghly district
    1. Baidyabati Municipality
    2. Bhadreswar, Hooghly Municipality
    3. Bansberia Municipality
    4. Champdani Municipality
    5. Dankuni Municipality
    6. Hugli-Chuchura Municipality
    7. Konnagar Municipality
    8. Rishra Municipality
    9. Serampore Municipality
    10. Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality
  2. Howrah district
    1. Bally Howrah Municipality
    2. Uluberia Municipality
  3. Nadia district
    1. Gayespur Municipality
    2. Kalyani Municipality
  4. North 24 Parganas district
    1. Baranagar Municipality
    2. Barasat Municipality
    3. Barrackpore Municipality
    4. Bhatpara Municipality
    5. Dum Dum Municipality
    6. Garulia Municipality
    7. Halisahar Municipality
    8. Kamarhati Municipality
    9. Kanchrapara Municipality
    10. Khardah Municipality
    11. Madhyamgram Municipality
    12. Naihati Municipality
    13. New Barrackpore Municipality
    14. North Barrackpur Municipality
    15. North Dumdum Municipality
    16. Panihati Municipality
    17. South Dumdum Municipality
    18. Titagarh Municipality
  5. South 24 Parganas district
    1. Baruipur Municipality
    2. Budge Budge Municipality
    3. Maheshtala Municipality
    4. Pujali Municipality
    5. Rajpur Sonarpur Municipality